Athletics Update – Weaver Named to All-America Team

player_14, WeaverAdd All-American Status to Adam Weaver’s Resume

AVCA 2014 All-American Division III Team

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 21, 2014) – The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce its 11th annual AVCA Men’s Division III All-America Teams which includes Hilbert College senior Adam Weaver.

The 63 Outside Hitter, who will be announced as the Division III National Leader in both Kills Per Set (5.03 k/s) and Points Per Set (5.86 p/s) once all national stats are posted as ‘Final’, becomes only the second student-athlete at Hilbert College to be named to a National All-American Team.  Weaver, who  led the Hawks to the program’s most successful season in 2014 while posting personal season/career numbers on the court, was named to a two-man Honorable Mention Team after the 14-man 1st Team and 14-man 2nd Team were announced April 21st.

Springfield College and Juniata College lead the way this season, with a total of four athletes honored on the first and second teams. SUNY New Paltz, Stevens and Carthage are next in line with three All-Americans each. This is the first season each team was expanded to 14 players with AVCA All-America Honorable Mentions.

Carthage senior Connor Wexter headlines the year’s recipients as the only four-time AVCA All-American after being selected to the second team in 2011 and the first team over the next three years.

Rivier’s Aaron Almario, Juniata’s Joe Bortak, MIT’s Brendan Chang, SUNY New Paltz’s Tim Ferriter, Springfield’s Nick Ferry, Juniata’s Paul Kuhn and Springfield’s Jimmy O’Leary are the other repeat All-Americans on the first team.

Nazareth’s Luke Lawatsch and NYU’s Connor Mortland are the only members of the second team who have earned All-American honors multiple times.

The selections were made by the AVCA Men’s Division III Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Charlie Sullivan (Springfield College), Todd Hollenbeck (UC Santa Cruz), Paul Dill (MIT), John Hutton (D’Youville), Braden Zamore (Daniel Webster), Hudson Bates (Marymount), Dan Ames (Dominican), Evan Giglio (Wentworth IT), Ray Bello (Hunter), Robert Cole (NJCU), Richard Gary (Wells).


Adam Weaver Named AMCC Player of the Year

Pernick Had A Powerful Day for the Hawks in Defeat

Hawks Suffer Two Losses to the Spartans

Hawks Clinch NEAC Play-off Spot After 13-6 Victory