2014 Athletic Awards Reception

Photo Recap of Reception

rp_primary_MCGRATHHAMBURG, NY – The Hilbert College Athletics Department proudly honored their 2013-2014 student-athletes at its annual Athletic Awards Reception on April 28. Following the Swan Auditorium ceremony, a casual light-fare snacks reception was held in the West Herr Atrium.

President Cynthia Zane’s welcoming remarks opened the evening of celebration and Hilbert’s John Czarnecki, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, served as the program’s emcee.

The evening consisted of a series of presentations which profiled Hilbert’s student-athlete academic achievements and senior athlete award presentations. Robbi Bailey, selected as this year’s senior speaker, addressed her fellow student-athletes prior to each head coach introducing their individual award winners. At the conclusion of the celebration, the McGrath Award winners were introduced so that their names will be forever enshrined in the athletic department’s Academic Wall of Achievement.

Eleven of the thirteen NCAA Division III teams are members of the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference. The AMCC honors student-athletes who maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher by the completion of the fall semester, each year. Seventy-eight athletes were announced as members of the 2014 AMCC Academic All-Conference team. Further, forty-five of those athletes were honored as Individual Peak Performers, for carrying a 3.5 or higher cumulative grade point average. Follow (this link) for the complete list of AMCC Academic All Conference members.

The men’s lacrosse team is an associate member of the North Eastern Athletic Conference, which announces their yearly Scholar-Athlete Awards Recipients list at the conclusion of a full academic cycle. Those athletes must achieve a 3.4 cumulative grade point average to be recognized by the NEAC. A full release will follow once the NEAC team is announced in the early summer. But Hilbert would like to identify these lacrosse players who achieved the same 3.2 gpa as their fellow AMCC student-athletes: Jedi Bengert,Mustafa ChoukeirBrenden DeadyNathaniel HymanJohn LobdellAndrew MacKaySean ManningElliott RussillioMatthew SimonDoug TakacBen Unverhau and Adam Zawadzki.

The women’s lacrosse program, competing as an independent institution, does not have a conference academic standard to meet and will not be able to recognize the academic success of their athletes. Yet, these student-athletes met the same 3.2 gpa and should be announced as well: Harlie DeckerKelly MandellNikki Schneider and Megan Smith.

And lastly, a special acknowledgment goes out to the following student-athletes who earned a perfect 4.0 in the fall semester: John BabocsiKateland BallAshley BenjaminJenna CransBrenden DeadyShannon EllisJaelyn GothamCrystal HaileyKylie ReinholzJulie RouleauYiliang Richard SongEliza StringhamDoug TakacNatalie Whitman andMatthew Williams.

The 2014 edition of Hilbert’s Chi Alpha Sigma New York Theta Chapter followed the All-Conference academic awards. This National College Athlete Honor Society honors junior and senior student-athletes who carry a grade point average of 3.4 or higher and exhibit good moral character. These twenty newest members were awarded a certificate and a medal of honor: senior Kateland Ball (a third year student-athlete graduating early), junior Ryan Brewster, junior Breana Cline, junior Tyler Coniglio, senior Jenna Crans (a third year student-athlete graduating early), junior Nathan Decker, junior Andrew Duncan, senior Brittany Hancy, junior Amber Hay, junior Jenah Labuski, junior Rick Landahl, junior Trevor Stark, junior Caitlyn Tauriello, and junior Megan VanNorman. These student-athletes joined the fifteen previous 2013 inductees.

Head coaches of each program took a few moments to recap their team’s season and to announce each squad’s 2013-14 award recipients. To see a complete list of the Most Valuable, Most Improved and the Coaches Award winners (click here).

Once the bulk of the evening presentations were distributed, John Babocsi (Webster, NY) and Natalie Whitman (Lockport, NY) were announced as the 2014 McGrath Award winners {in photo}. This prestigious award is provide by Francis and Marie McGrath, two generous benefactors of Hilbert College who stipulate the award be given to one male and one female graduating student-athlete who has demonstrated exemplary achievement both academically and athletically while at Hilbert College. Babocsi is graduating with a degree in Business Administration after representing the Hawks on the baseball diamond the last three seasons.  He, along with  Whitman, earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average and both have been involved in campus and community work since 2012.  Whitman is graduating with a degree in Forensic Science/Crime Scene Investigation after earning AMCC All-Conference honors on both the basketball and softball teams during her three seasons of attendance.

In his closing remarks, John Czarnecki and head coach Bill Schultz presented senior Adam Weaver with a plaque honoring his AVCA Honorable Mention All-American selection in men’s volleyball this spring.