Athletics News – June 6

rp_primary_FAR_winnersBabocsi and Whitman Headline AMCC All-Academic Team

PITTSBURGH, Pa. – The Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference announced the 2014 AMCC All-Academic Team June 4th.

Hilbert College’s John Babocsi and Natalie Whitman were selected to the highest honor within the All-Academic Team when they were introduced as the Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR) Award winners.  Both seniors were selected by the FARs from among the 20 outstanding student-athletes nominated within the ten-member conference.

Both Babocsi and Whitman graduated from Hilbert with a perfect 4.0 GPA and were named as the 2014 McGrath Award winners by the athletic department.  The annual award is given to one male and one female graduating student-athlete who demonstrated exemplary achievement both academically and athletically while at Hilbert.  Additionally, these outstanding scholars were named to the Whose Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges; each were selected to the very prestigious Blue and White Honor Society at Hilbert and they earned a second McGrath Award prior to their graduation.  Babocsi grabbed the McGrath Award in Business Administration and Whitman in Science.

Babocsi was a two-year captain and a three-year starter on the Hawks’ baseball team.  He earned the Collegiate Sales and Marketing Award sponsored by the Buffalo Niagara Sales and Marketing Executives for 2013-14 and graduated with a degree in Business Administration.

Whitman, graduating with a Forensic Science/Crime Scene Investigation degree, was a two-sport standout for the Hawks.  She earned All AMCC recognition in both basketball and softball and became Hilbert College’s only athlete to earn a spot on an AMCC All Conference team in two sports in the same year.  She further distanced herself from other Hilbert athletes by doing it in consecutive years.  Whitman received the College’s outstanding Community Service Award prior to graduation.

Since Hilbert College became a full-member in the AMCC in 2004-05, only three other Hawks have been selected as the FAR Award recipients.   John Babocsi became Hilbert’s first male winner, while Whitman joins three alumna in this honor: Amber Grosch ’13, Maggie Fage ’10 and Katy Dorsheimer ’05.


School Female Male
D’Youville College Shannon Evans Matthew Veronica
Franciscan University Molly Jane Chambers Peter Mooney
Hilbert College Natalie Whitman John Babocsi
La Roche College Ashley DeVito Jonathan Mancuso
Medaille College Candis Kapuscinski Nathan Schneider
Mount Aloysius College Jalisa Westover Seth Shaffer
Penn State Altoona Kristen Cummings Jay Wareham
Penn State Behrend Corrine Conto Garrett Fiscus
University of Pittsburgh – Bradford Taylor McMillen Matthew Patterson
University of Pittsburgh – Greensburg Courtney Carroll Jared DelBianco

More Headlines
Trevor Stark Named to JSR First-Team All-American

Hilbert Athletics and ADPRO Sports Become Partners

AMCC Spring Team Peak Performers Announced