Athletics Update – May 6

2015-16 Athletic Awards Reception Recap

The Hilbert College Athletics Department proudly honored their 2015-16 student-athletes at its annual Athletic Awards Reception Monday, May 2.  Following the Swan Auditorium ceremony, a casual reception was held in the West Herr Atrium.

John Czarnecki, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, served as the evening’s primary presenter and emcee.  Hilbert’s Chaplain, Fr. Greg Jakubowicz, offered an opening reflection before President Cynthia Zane continued with her welcoming remarks as the celebration continued.

The evening consisted of a series of presentations which profiled Hilbert’s student-athlete academic and athletic achievements as well as senior athlete award presentations. Wyann Jackson, selected as this year’s senior student speaker, addressed her fellow student-athletes prior to the distribution of team awards. At the conclusion of the evening, the McGrath Award winners were introduced and their names will be forever enshrined in the athletic department’s Academic Wall of Achievement.

Ten of Hilbert’s 13 NCAA Division III teams are members of the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC). Men’s lacrosse and men’s volleyball are members of the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) and the women’s lacrosse program, in its fourth season of existence, currently completes as an independent program.

The AMCC conference announced their Academic All-Conference members during the Division III Week in early April.  71 Hilbert student-athletes were first time or repeat honorees having earned a 3.2 cumulative grade point average or higher through the fall 2015 semester grade.

Thirty-eight Hawks joined the 2015-16 Individual Peak Performers listed this year with 19 first-time members.  Of those 19, five upperclassmen elevated their gpa to 3.5 or higher and another ten are 1st-time students at Hilbert.

Follow this LINK for the complete list of AMCC Academic All-Conference and Individual Peak Performer members.

The NEAC league continues to announced their Scholar-Athlete members at the conclusion of the full academic year so the 2015-16 men’s lacrosse and volleyball players who achieve a 3.4 cumulative (2015-16) gpa will be announce in early June. The 2014-15 honorees who, as returning student-athletes this year, were recognized in the program:  Austin Good, Adam Heftka, Nathaniel Hyman, James Moscato, Korey Schwab, Matthew Simon, Grant Stockman and Adam Zawadzki.

Kelly Starchok, the department’s NCAA Compliance and Student Services Coordinator, honored those student-athletes who achieved a perfect 4.0 either in the fall 2015 semesters:  senior Harlie Decker, freshman Treyton delaCuesta, junior Nathaniel Hyman, freshman Aurora Klawinski, senior Kylie Reinholz, freshman Victoria Santos and senior Korey Schwab.

Starchok also shared the National Student-Athlete Honor Society members who were first presented for induction on April 22nd at the college-wide Honor Society Ceremony.

The College honored 31 Chi Alpha Sigma New York Theta Chapter associates who carry a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 or higher and who exhibit good moral character are considered for inclusion in their junior or senior year. Of the 31 announced,  19 first-year members were awarded a certificate and a medal of honor:  third year, but graduating May ’16 senior Paige Chatt, junior Jennifer Colvin, third-year, but graduating in Dec.’16 senior Brenden Deady, junior Tyler Eister, junior Paige Goerke, junior Adam Heftka, junior Marisa Huffman, junior Nathaniel Hyman, junior Kyle Kline, junior Kelly Mergenhagen, junior Jacklyn Morgan, junior Dalton Reynolds, junior Shannon Rogers, junior Nikki Schneider, juniorKorey Schwab, junior Amanda Snyder, junior Emily Speidel, junior Courtney Vaccaro and junior Adam Zawadzki.

The ceremony continued into the presentation of each team’s individual award winners. John Czarnecki read a brief summary of each team’s season before announcing the Most Improved, Most Valuable and Coaches Award recipients who were greeted by their program’s head coach. Click (here) to see a complete list of the 2015-16 winners.

Once the bulk of the evening presentations were distributed, Kylie Reinholz (Orchard Park, NY) and Tyler Shaw (Martinez, California) were announced as the 2016 McGrath Award winners (in photo with Don Vincent, the Faculty Athletic Representative). This prestigious award is provided by Francis and Marie McGrath, two generous benefactors of Hilbert College who stipulated the award be given to one male and one female graduating student-athlete who has demonstrated exemplary achievement both academically and athletically while at Hilbert College.

Reinholz is graduating this May with a degree in Forensic Science / Crime Scene Investigation after representing the Hawks on the cross country trails. Reinholz earned with a 3.98 grade point average while leading the women’s cross country team to a pair of AMCC Team Peak Performer awards. Shaw graduates this May after four solid seasons on the Hawks’ baseball team.   He carries a 3.72 grade point average as he works towards his Criminal Justice degree.